my poor brain. [ 2002-07-03, 8:59 p.m. ]

I woke up early this morning, then fell back asleep and had this dream:

I was with my sister and some other people in a strange city. We were in a shopping mall and some kind of cataclysmic event (tornado, bomb, something) occurred, reducing the mall to dust and rubble. We were trying to find our way out and finally found a tunnel. When we exited the tunnel we were on a city street somewhere in the 1930's or 40's. I lost my companions and was wandering kind of lost and a guy came up to me and said he would take me where I was supposed to be. He took me to a theatre building and led me up a narrow wooden stairway and into an dim old apartment that was almost totally darkened by thick curtains. He told me to wait, that the others would find me there soon, and then he left. As I sat in the dim apartment, I heard a voice tell me to begin searching, that there was something in the apartment for me to find.

So, I went into this really crowded crawlspace - it was overflowing with old clothes, books, jewelry, and as I dug through it I kept thinking all of this stuff must have belonged to someone important. I finally got to a huge pile of blankets in the middle of the crawlspace, moved them aside and found a door. I went through the door and I was in a "forgotten" part of the apartment - it was bright, more "modern" - almost a stark, art deco style and held all kinds of unusual treasures. I wandered around in it for a while and then suddenly I was a woman living there, and the man who had led me there came back and said "You just needed to remember this part of your house."

I have dreams like this all the time - and I know that Jungian dream analysis would say that I am living only in "part" of my self and that there is some forgotten, good thing that I need to get to. I have no earthly idea what that might be. But I have been feeling very discontented lately so perhaps it's time to try to find out.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design