The Stroll. [ 2003-09-10, 9:17 a.m. ]

Walked to the post office; when I got to the corner I could see two very large Chicago cops harassing one very small and very drunk Rite Liquors denizen. The drunk was yelling at the cops and one of the cops made a motion as if he were going to hit him, then pulled his handcuffs out and shoved the drunk guy. Nice work, officers. Way to show him who's the thug -- I mean -- boss...

~~~

Went into the p.o. and an elderly man in line in front of me started chatting -- he used to live in the neighborhood but retired to Kentucky - to a town about 30 miles from the small town where my mom grew up. He worked as a mail loader on freight trains and then at Schwinn before he retired. If I didn't have to work, I would have asked him to have a cup of coffee with me...

~~~

Proceeded down the street to the bakery for coffee and was catcalled by a man with no teeth hanging out of an old LeMans...it's come to that, I'm afraid...

~~~

On the way back home ran into Leeds man, who was being panhandled by the same drunk the cops had been harassing...which somehow brought the walk full circle.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design