Runaround. [ 2004-03-16, 8:51 a.m. ]

S. and I spent much of the past two days running around town. Yesterday, we had lunch at this amazing time capsule. From there, we went to an overpriced herb store at which we were waited on by the creepiest, most un-focused-eyed woman I have ever seen. She spent a few minutes telling us about the wonderful pet psychic she used when her bird was sick...uh, yeah. Which reminds me that I've been wanting to mention the hard-core hippie/New Age element that exists in this town...an element that alternately amuses and alarms me. But, I digress.

Later in the afternoon (after a few too many margaritas and some good SXSW people-watching), we found a kick-ass asian market that had the biggest selection of Pocky I have ever seen. (Including the mysterious "Men's Pocky".) In the back of the market is a little six-seat restaurant serving Korean food; there are 9 items listed on a dry-erase board -- everything costs $5 and the portions are huge. S. had some dumpling soup while I enjoyed watching the two cooks behind the counter; they were so spare and graceful of movement that it was like watching some kind of dance.

We came home to find one of S.'s cats sitting proudly next to an injured bird. S. scooted it off into the bushes but when I went out again later it was back, dead. I 've had indoor cats for so long, I'd forgotten that outdoor cats like to bring their owners such treats. The travelling cat is still inside for now - while he was missing he somehow tore tendons in his back leg and is still limping quite a bit. He's a scrapper and there are a lot of feral cats around our area so we don't want to let him out until he's completely healed.

I feel like I need to be productive today, so off I go.

Okay, going now.

Here I go.

And....I'm out.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design