Gruene-er Pastures [ 2004-04-19, 10:39 a.m. ]

Yesterday S. and I drove south to Gruene for a walk through their market days. The "market" was notable only for a profusion of ugly crafts, including cowboy hats painted with the flag of Texas (remarkably, S. and I passed on these fine fashion items). There were, however, several good antique stores and a really nice bookstore so we did manage to spend some dough. We found a really cool book that lists about 100 backroads day trips around Texas and are already planning a few weekend jaunts.

~~~

Gruene (pronounced "green") was founded by a family of German settlers in the late 1800's; the town and the family prospered until a weevil infestation and the onset of the Great Depression. History geeks can read more about Gruene here.

~~~

The main street of town is intact and while a lot of the old homes have been converted into shops, you still get a little bit of a feel for what it must have been like long ago. The coolest building by far is Gruene Hall, which is the oldest dance hall in Texas. You enter into a smallish front bar and then walk through to the hall. There's a stage at the far end and lots of long tables where people sit and drink. The best part of the hall, to me, was the smell. (I'm not kidding.) Old wood, musty air....ahhhh....

~~~

We also stopped at the New Braunfels Museum of Art and Music to see an exhibit of artwork by musicians. Some of it was very good and some of it was...just okay. My favorite pieces were by Terry Allen, who included this quote in his exhibit: "I don't like to make statements about what I do. I think people should make up their own minds. A work worth anything is an open door to anyone curious enough to look or listen. Statements have a tendency to slam it in your face." I like that.

~~~

We drove back along a two-lane highway and passed a very creepy looking compound for the Tribe of Ancient Ways. Also spotted: a restaurant sign that spelled out the word "PANCAKE" in huge letters. Just one per customer, please.

~~~

I am trying to hurry out of here so I apologize for the somewhat unfinished nature of this entry. I do not, however, apologize for the unfinished nature of all my other entries.

~~~

Ha.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design