On the fly. [ 2005-12-20, 5:08 p.m. ]

The nephew arrived Friday night. I had to get a security pass to meet him at his gate and as I passed through security, the guard asked me, "So, do redheads have more fun?". Hit on by a rent-a-cop. Surely a new low.

Saturday we went to an ICE BATS game, which is barely one step above a high school hockey game, but was fun nonetheless. Especially when the players started beating the crap out of each other. I loves me some hockey fights. When you buy a beer at the Ice Bats arena, you're handed a poker chip that has the initials "DWI" inside the universal circle/slash. I pocketed the chip, figuring it was a community service message. When I got home, I discovered the flip side of the chip was printed with contact information for THE DWIDUDE. Way to reach your target audience, dwidude. Way to be a total embarassment to your profession as well, by the way.

Sunday we went hiking at MCKINNEY FALLS. I had to go "Mom" on the nephew when he wanted to jump across a span that would have meant a 25-foot fall onto the rocks had he misses (I did let him jump across a smaller span).

Yesterday we drove to the wasteland known as Waco and went to the DR. PEPPER MUSEUM, where the nevvie had his very first "real" fountain drink. (Real as in made from syrup and soda instead of out of a can.) We enjoyed the creepy animatronics and Dr. Pepper ephemera then headed over to the uber-bizarre TEXAS RANGERS MUSEUM. If you relied on the museum's placards to teach you American history, you'd think that the white settlers had been here forever and the Indians suddenly appeared to (and I quote) "bring trouble and death" upon them. Even the nephew was snickering.

Some photos:

S. and nephew at McKinney Falls, bonding over their mutual love of water and rocks.

*Snicker*

Creepy robot at the Dr. Pepper Museum

Triple X Soda will love you long time!

Waxen criminal being polygraphed at the Rangers Museum


thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design