My dad... [ 2006-07-17, 8:10 p.m. ]

****
...who designed Apollo rockets and an innovative reactor safety design that was adopted worldwide, does not own a computer. Nor has he ever so much as used one. This blows my mind.

I downloaded some information for him from the Mayo clinic and other sources and was trying to write a note before I put it in the mail but...I'm at a loss.

Dear Dad, Here's the information - hope it helps!

Dear Dad, Here's the downlow on how you're going to die. Cheers!

Dear Dad, You're in good company - Bogie died from esophageal cancer, too! How cool is that?!

****

In other news, my mother has secured her sainthood by offering to have my dad move back to Chicago and stay in her house while this all goes on. ("This all" being his death, of course.) My dad lives in a fairly remote area of Arizona - getting to him involves a flight into Phoenix, then a 2.5 hour drive up into the mountains. It would be easier for everyone but him if he'd relocate somewhere for treatment but I don't want to be the one to suggest that. His only sibling, my aunt, is going to broach the subject with him...

****

Oh, this is so many kinds of NOT fun. The only time he choked up today was when he told me he wished he wasn't putting his kids through more turmoil...and then he tried to say something about how his drinking and smoking led him to this place and he's sorry - I cut him off and said it doesn't matter how he got here, he's here and we need to deal with the present, not the past. I know he has a lot of regret over how he's behaved but I am not about to throw anything in his face at this point, nor is anyone else. The truth of the matter is that all of us love him in spite of himself. Whether he can accept that or not is another matter entirely. I hope he can and I hope he will let us help him.

****


thisaway - thataway

1 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design