Middle-of-the-night-afterschool special! [ 2003-06-08, 8:54 a.m. ]

One of my neighbors woke me up at 1am -- she had just come in --- there was someone passed out on the sidewalk in front of the building and she didn't know what to do. So I got dressed and the two of us went downstairs...there were 3 girls in front of the building trying to help their friend - none of them could have been older than 14-15. We tried to get the passed out girl upright but she was way, way gone so I asked the girls if we could call someone to come get them but they didn't want their parents to know they were wasted.

Finally one of them gave me the name of a cousin to call and about 15 minutes later two pickup trucks pulled up and five guys in cowboy hats piled out - it was the cousin and a bunch of his friends - the passed out girl had revived enough to sit up so they got her into one of the trucks and the rest of the girls piled in the back and off they went. The cousin didn't speak much English but he told me the girls live down in Pilsen and have been hanging around with gangbangers for the past few months -- two of them are being sent back to Mexico for the summer by their families to try to nip the gang stuff in the bud...then he thanked my neighbor and I profusely for helping them and left.

Just another night on the avenue...

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design