And they have a lilac-colored water tower, too! [ 2003-10-10, 9:14 p.m. ]

The sis and I ate lunch at the delightful Pita House on Roosevelt Road in Lombard. For those of you who don't know, Lombard is known as the Lilac Village; home of Lilacia Park and is the town in which my friend Nora reigned as Lilac Queen one year.

~~~

It is also the location of Yorktown Mall, where a young Lass had her very first paying job as Santa's helper one tragic holiday season. And I am here to tell you that at age 15, there are few things more mortifying than having your friends and schoolmates see you walking around a mall dressed as an elf. (Of course, I left Santa's sorry ass behind as soon as I got a job at Just Pants...) I didn't actually grow up in Lombard but Yorktown was a kind of Mecca for suburban DuPage County teenagers seeking work, so there ya go.

~~~

Lombard has a Hobby Lobby store, in which I spent far more money than was truly necessary today...If you can stand all the creepy Jesus overtones in there, you can find some good deals. I was slightly disturbed by a large display of chicken-themed products, but other than that it was a pleasant visit...

~~~

At the Pita House, they are building some kind of clunky outdoor trellis thing that looked unnervingly like a giant catapult. The owner was very excited about the trellis and also told my sister and I how happy he is now that people aren't heaving rocks through his windows anymore. They had some trouble after Sept. 11th and then again after the Iraqi war started.

~~~

I guess those Lilacians can be a hard-hearted bunch.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design