When the rain comes, she runs and hides her head... [ 2003-11-19, 11:04 a.m. ]

...which is what I wish I was doing today instead of driving all over hell and back in rainy traffic...

~~~

S. called me at 2am to tell me he was finally home; his plane sat on the tarmac at O'Hare for two hours waiting to take off...then it was two more hours of turbulent, stormy flying.

~~~

More snippets from the weekend: S. was set upon by my sister's five kids, all of whom wanted his attention. A. demanded that he have a tea party with her and read her books and G. climbed up into his lap and played with his hair and his beard...both of which had fascinated him when he first saw a pic. of S...the older kids mostly just hung around but by the time we were leaving, A. and G. were literally climbing up S. and it was time to go...

~~~

Among the desserts my mom made was a cake fashioned to look like a straw hat, upon which she put a yellow flower which was to represent the "yellow rose of Texas"...have I ever mentioned how sweet and corny my mom is? There's been no offical mom feedback on S. but I could tell she was completely won over, which is no surprise to me.

~~~

S. pulled off the chef's equivalent of a Macguyver escape Sunday morning - he somehow managed to use the paltry offerings of my pantry and fridge to create a wonderful omelet with fresh tomatoes and onion and spices, sweet potato hash browns... all kinds of yummy stuff.

~~~

And let me tell you, my bed felt big and empty last night.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design