Random, mostly Austin-related crap. [ 2004-02-28, 9:42 a.m. ]

People here call their personal modes of transportation "vehicles" (pronounced vee-hickle). Me? I drive a CAR.

~~~

Clothes dried on a clothesline smell great but are so wrinkled you can't wear them. (And this is ME talking...the woman who hasn't ironed a piece of clothing in ten years).

~~~

Am I making productive use of all my time off? Yes, yes I am. Mostly. Well...

~~~

Confession: I've been watching tv. So far I have limited myself to late-night reruns of the Simpsons and King of the Hill, but I'm sure it's just a matter of time until I get sucked into some bad FOX network offering.

~~~

After my scary-bad migraine this week, I found myself craving the same kinds of food I crave after having a bad flu/fever. Weird shit like creamed chipped beef. Maybe I DID have a stroke.

~~~

I do not now, nor have I ever, had diamonds in the soles of my shoes.

~~~

The only thing worse than me shopping while hungry is S. and me shopping while hungry. Jalapeno pork rinds. Need I say more?

~~~

Ice cream trucks here are just conversion vans with stickers all over them and the same shitty blaring music they have in Chicago. The first time one of them went down our street I thought it was some clever pedophile who had decked out his van to look like an ice cream truck. Seriously.

~~~

Dr. Pepper is apparently the Texas State Soda. At the store last night, I spotted something called "Dublin Dr. Pepper" that costs $6.99 for a six pack of smallish bottles. It caught my eye because the bottles have the old, old Dr. Pepper logo on them. On a prior trip to these parts, I went to the Dr. Pepper Museum (after an aborted attempt to get onto the Waco massacre site to take pics). It was...not that interesting.

~~~

It seems like every single restaurant in Austin has a banner outside advertising their "breakfast tacos".

~~~

Most rank-sounding taco product I've seen on a menu: Tofu Puffy Tacos. Don't even want to know what that's all about.

~~~

The Texas State History museum is beautiful, does a good job of representing the history of the native populations and what was done to them, and...is boring. S. and I got a good laugh out of the menu at their restaurant, however. It was hard to decide over the "Happy Trails" salad and the "Get Along Little Corn Doggie". I wish I was kidding.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design