Sizing it up. [ 2006-07-20, 7:38 a.m. ]

****
Forgot to mention yesterday's news: the tumor is 8cm (roughly 3.25 in.) in diameter and it is located in an inoperable location.

My dad has agreed to have radiation treatments in an attempt to shrink the tumor and make him more comfortable but it doesn't sound like anyone is optimistic that that will happen.
He said yesterday that it seems more practical to drink and smoke even more than he does normally to speed up the process and I almost agreed with him. All they are doing at this point is buying him a small amount of time, during which he is very likely to feel miserable.

I fought my cancer like hell because it was small and all indications were it was curable. If someone told me I had a rapidly growing, inoperable tumor, I honestly can't say that I'd bother with any kind of treatment...and I don't blame my dad for feeling that way either. He's going to try a few weeks of radiation and see how he holds up but if it's really debilitating I am sure he'll bail on it and just let the disease take its course. Which to me is the more practical way to approach it. I can only imagine the shitstorm that will set off with my family, though.
****

thisaway - thataway

3 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design